Drinking age in Tennessee
The National Minimum Drinking Age Act really changed the way that this country treated alcohol purchase and possession. It didn’t say anything about the age for alcohol consumption though. That’s why several of the states have different ages for alcohol consumption, or at least they have exceptions to the 21-year-old age limit. That means that people can alcohol if they have their parents’ permission in some states, or if they are drinking it for religious purposes, or some other reason. There are a number of reasons that people drink in the 50 states.
Each state has different rules on the consumption of alcohol. However, the law remains that the public possession and purchase of alcohol is set at 21 for all the 50 states. There’s no getting around that. It’s the law of the land, and it’s going to be there to stay.
The Act specifically spoke about purchase and possession. So, there are different exceptions and allowances for drinking in the 50 states. There are a number of reasons why someone may need or want to drink before they’re the age of 21. Their drinking does nothing to contribute to drunk driving fatalities. For example, they may drink at their parents’ dinner if they’re at home with other relatives and friends too. Or, they may drink for religious rites or sacraments too. None of them are actually going to get in the car and go driving and get involved in a fatality of some sort accidentally. That’s why the 50 states were sensible in setting opportunities for different kinds of drinking. However, nine of the 50 states completely outlaw the consumption of alcohol by people who are under the age of 21 years of age. It seems kind of unfair that such draconian laws would exist, but it’s the reality in several states.
There was no known drinking age before the passage of Prohibition in 1919. However, once Prohibition was repealed, the drinking age was raised to 21. It was lowered to 18 in 1971, and it was raised to 19 in 1979. It was raised to 21 in 1984. It has been still at 21 ever since. Tennessee allows underage drinking for religious purposes. Not all the states have liberal exceptions to the 21-year-old drinking age that is pervasive across the country. While some states allow the underage consumption of alcohol for all sorts of reasons, including on private, non alcohol-selling premises with a parent’s consent, other states don’t allow it all, and still others don’t allow it for any reason other than religious purposes. Tennessee is one of those states. It’s not unusual that some places only have underage drinking for religious purposes. Religious has been a very critical aspect of many peoples’ lives in this country, and alcohol is often required for religious purposes. However, some states are much more liberal in their exceptions, while other states are a lot harsher in the exceptions they make to the underage alcohol consumption rule. Not all states are the same.